What permissions do you give others to modify and/or maintain your submission?
Modify: ASK ME - Maintain: IN MY ABSENCE - Others must ask me for permission before modifying my submission or use it in their own work, and I reserve the right to say no for any reason. However, if I can no longer be contacted, I give permission for my entire submission to be maintained by others.

Howdy pardner. I'm Fang...Fang the Sniper. I'm a bounty hunter, and I happen to have
found myself in this here book of Wild West frontier myths.

Right now, I'm heading into town to meet my least favorite client.
It's been a long journey and there's more ahead.

Want to come with? Course you do. Saddle up.

🞜🞜🞜


"Sonic and the Gunslinger" is a SRB2 mod inspired by the Sonic storybook games and with a Wild West theme.

The game was originally submitted to SAGE 2023 and distributed with the permission of SRB2's developments. Now, it's available as mod on the SRB2 message boards!

Play as Sonic, Fang, and Rouge in more than a dozen linear, exploration, and boss stages.

Maps can be freely reused and modified without permission. Refer to the credits file if you want to reuse images, sound, or addons; feel free to contact me if you are not sure.

INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Make sure you have SRB2 v2.2.13 or higher installed. You can download it here:
https://www.srb2.org/download/ OR https://github.com/STJr/SRB2/releases

2. Simply drag all the files under "Drag these next to srb2win exe" into the root of your SRB2 installation.

3. Run either of the provided .bat files to play!

WHY NOT A PK3? :

Sonic and the Gunslinger is packaged as a special game type, not just a PK3. This ensures that you get:

* OpenGL on by default (mandatory, as software mode will not work in some levels)
* Extra models, including Rouge, courtesy of Jeck Jims
* Gravity flipping on by default (which makes one level much more playable)
* A custom profile (so that control and setting changes do not affect your main SRB2 install)

CONTROLS AND SETTINGS:

Sonic and the Gunslinger was originally submitted to SAGE 2023. It uses a default a control scheme that was designed for players who don't usually play SRB2, with a reduced set of keyboard and mouse controls and no joypad bindings.

You can rebind controls in-game in three ways.

1) Press '~' and type 'sagekeys' in the console for Sonic and the Gunslinger defaults

2) Press '~' and type 'srb2keys' in the console for SRB2 defaults

3) Set your own controls in the game menu under OPTIONS > PLAYER 1 CONTROLS.
* Apart from movement and menu keys, the only necessary keys are SPIN, ATTACK, and CUSTOM 3.
* Note that any key rebinds that you make will not be reflected in tutorial text boxes.
* Sonic and the Gunslinger uses its own profile, so any settings changes that you make will not affect your main game.

CREDITS:
Contact sonicgunslinger@protonmail.com for content takedown requests or additional credit requests
Special Thanks

Special thanks to voice actors involved in the project:

Cashlin Snow ~ Dontae Majors ~ Jehtt ~ KaL Yoshika

And to music artists who gave permission for their work to be used:
Vurez ~ The Rinn

And to Sonic Team Jr. members who gave permission to redistribute SRB2 and official assets:
Jeck Jims ~ Seventh Sentinel ~ Sonic Team Junior

And to beta testers and supporters
Filipegamerjkk ~ New Vick ~ TimeFox2345 ~ SmugSpeed ~
YourAverageTailsEnjoyer ~ RedSRB2 ~ beakythegreat ~ Almulescent
Voice Actors

Cashlin Snow - Rouge (Voice) https://cashlinsnow.com/ https://twitter.com/CashlinSnow

Dontae Majors - Eggman (Voice) https://dontaemajors.carrd.co https://twitter.com/Swordtee40

Jehtt - Sonic (Voice) https://twitter.com/TurboJeht https://jehtt.net/

KaL Yoshika - Fang (Voice) https://twitter.com/Kalyoshika/ http://www.hardcoregaming101.net/

Rouge The Bat (Legacy) [v3.1] 3.1 by cozyraf https://mb.srb2.org/threads/rouge-the-bat-legacy-v3-1
Code Credits

Sonic Robo Blast 2 distributed with permission from Sonic Team Junior and SeventhSentinel - Thank you! https://www.srb2.org/

Rouge The Bat (Legacy) [v3.1] 3.1 by cozyraf https://mb.srb2.org/threads/rouge-the-bat-legacy-v3-1.29479/

Goal Ring v2.4b by Demnyx Onyxfur https://mb.srb2.org/addons/goal-ring.1989/29479/

Slot Machine by Tatsuru https://mb.srb2.org/threads/slot-machine.27500/

Air Options 1.0 by MasterDisaster64 https://mb.srb2.org/addons/air-options.4371/

Bomb Throw Ability for Fang by Simon_T https://mb.srb2.org/threads/bomb-throw-ability-for-fang.28148/

Free movement while rolling (Spin Control) by Tempest97 (Krimps) https://mb.srb2.org/threads/free-movement-while-rolling-spin-control.28921/

Emerald Status v2 by CloneFighter https://mb.srb2.org/addons/emerald-status.2679/

Overhauled Legacy Trio (+ Legacy Sonic) & Knuckles Update 8.0.2 by Elyos03 [SSN Sonic] https://mb.srb2.org/addons/overhauled-legacy-trio-legacy-sonic-knuckles.498/

A Bunch of Cool Objects 2022-09-13 by RoyKirbs [Targets] https://mb.srb2.org/addons/a-bunch-of-cool-objects.47/

Plushima's Asset Collection - PAC 1.3 by Princess Plushima [Flight boost rings] https://mb.srb2.org/addons/plushimas-asset-collection-pac.3139/

Emerald Hunt Hint System by Princess Plushima https://mb.srb2.org/addons/emerald-hunt-hint-system.4230/

Adventure Monitors for 2.2 by Demnyx Onyxfur [used with permission] https://mb.srb2.org/threads/adventure-monitors-for-2-2.27615/

Whirlwind Passive v1.1 by CloneFighter https://mb.srb2.org/addons/whirlwind-passive.2764/

SA1 Spindash - It doesn't matter! by Starlight https://mb.srb2.org/threads/sa1-spindash-it-doesnt-matter.28199/

Title screen template v1 by kirb https://mb.srb2.org/addons/title-screen-template.4562/

Custom HUD Library 2.1 by TehRealSalt https://mb.srb2.org/addons/custom-hud-library.5278/

Moto Bug - 3D Model (Enemy) by ElberGR https://mb.srb2.org/addons/moto-bug-3d-model-enemy.3184/
Graphics Credits

Voxel Pack by Kenney https://www.kenney.nl/assets/voxel-pack

Jeck Jims' 2.2 3D Models https://mb.srb2.org/threads/jeck-jims-2-2-3d-models.27566/

Revolution's Revolution HUD (Score font, modified) https://mb.srb2.org/addons/revolution-hud.1879/

Peppermint's Not So Simple Sonic Worlds HUD (Some life icons, modified) https://mb.srb2.org/addons/not-so-simple-sonic-worlds-hud.3195/

Aria's Chaotix Nexus Hud (Title card font, modified) https://mb.srb2.org/addons/chaotix-nexus-huds.3159/updates

SAGE Logo by Pixy-Pie https://twitter.com/pics_pixels

Rollup pixel font https://thug-inc.itch.io/roolup-pixel-font

Title screen background https://www.vecteezy.com/vector-art/92111-old-western-town-silhouette-vector

Default SRB2 textures by Sonic Team Junior Other art by the developer and from mods

And original artwork
Music Credits

Ennio Morricone - The Ecstasy Of Gold (Bandini remix) [1 min sample]

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly - Ennio Morricone(Loop)
Need For Speed 2 SE Soundtrack - Refried Jumping Beans

Western Showdown (Mario Enters) - Paper Mario: The Origami King OST

E.G.G.M.A.N. (Instrumental) - Sonic Adventure 2 [OST]

Mushroom Hill (Come On, Mr. Sonic) - Sonic the Fighters https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbBoHtdddSY

SA2 in the Groove - Sonic Adventure 2 [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1rTZNqsaJU

Wild Guns (SNES) - Carson City Theme Remake - Toledo https://soundcloud.com/augustostankovich-1/wild-guns-carson-city-remake-toledo

Fly in the Freedom (Instrumental) - Sonic Adventure 2 [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lxr7jwqqnpw

Arid Sands (Night) - Sonic Unleashed [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHDNWvTFIsY

Horde Ballz (2005 Abandoned Game Project) - Jammity Bam by Vurez https://vurez.com/

South Island (Lovers) - Sonic the Fighters [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KtvWxutPo3U

Midnight Owl (Bayou Drums Ver.) - Sonic Lost World [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVccJXrwMok

Manic Mineshaft - Arrangement of Ducktales - The African Mines - by Vurez https://vurez.com/

Aurora Icefield (Black Bed) - Sonic the Fighters [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwGNT1xowPs

Mega Man VI - Rider of the Plains - Tomahawk Man Remix https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-jz7tVch1U

Casino Night (Here We Go) - Sonic the Fighters [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtiDUsA1ioc

Wild Guns Reloaded OST - Flying Ship https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YPWjcNIi3MU

Strategy - Sonic Adventure 2 [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgcj035vwXI

Giant Wing (Fire Stone) - Sonic the Fighters [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDKZ7taa8A4

The Rinn - I Will Awake https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAO_wX4tdFs

Thunderstep Music - Lone Cowboy (Epic Beautiful Melancholic Western) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ej9Jqzzyvc

Undefeated (Invincibility) - Sonic Mania [OST] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhcMh8RErCI

Sonic Mania OST - Speed Shoes (Extended) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VpgxXqzATo

and... Got Fish! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMkF9DB6AZ8
Beta testers and support

Sonic3k https://www.sonicfangameshq.com/forums/members/sonic3k.11655/

Filipegamerjkk https://www.sonicfangameshq.com/forums/members/filipegamerjkk.18215/

New Vick https://www.sonicfangameshq.com/forums/members/new-vick.8013/

TimeFox2345 https://www.sonicfangameshq.com/forums/members/timefox2345.42350/

SmugSpeed https://www.sonicfangameshq.com/forums/members/smugspeed.13220/

YourAverageTailsEnjoyer https://mb.srb2.org/members/youraveragetailsenjoyer.27433/

RedSRB2 https://mb.srb2.org/members/redsrb2.23114/

beakythegreat https://mb.srb2.org/members/beakythegreat.22232/

Retroshaffer

SAGE 2023 Trailer by Almulescent https://mb.srb2.org/members/almulescent.11826/

JMMADX.png
CRI8wg.png
1FrJ0B.png
Vbh3t3.png
AuegCP.jpeg
Author
metalharbor
Downloads
2,385
Views
5,550
Extension type
zip
File size
72.7 MB
MD5 Hash
b724132f4f93417dd14c713d332805b3
First release
Last update
Rating
4.50 star(s) 2 ratings

More resources from metalharbor

Share this resource

Latest reviews

like i said during sage, it's cute and enjoyable. and now it's miles easier to play in vanilla srb2! would totally be up to playing more map packs by this guy.
Upvote 0
I remember doing playtesting this mod and playing it's release. Granted I used my past username 'beakythegreat' but I'm telling y'all to play this. The stages are fun and the voice acting is awesome!

It was a honor to help in this mod, wishing you luck in the future.
metalharbor
metalharbor
Thank you for the nice words and your help testing!
Upvote 0
Back
Top