SRB2 Doom Builder help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jake

I'm new to level editing, and while I've been following this guide, there are still a few things I am stuck on:

a) I'm trying to make a flat waterfall similar to the ones found in GFZ2, but as shown in the second screenshot, I'm stumped on how to make the underwater texture back to GFZROCK.

wtrfall1.jpg

wtrfall2.jpg

b) Simply put, how do I place things on floating platforms?

1. The waterfall itself should be a water block, not a texture.
2. I'm fairly certain SRB2 Doom builder just has a little "Z Offset" box, use that.

Draykon said:
1. The waterfall itself should be a water block, not a texture.

Once I do that, it looks perfectly normal at first, but when I enter the water, I see this:

wtrfall3.jpg

I'm able to walk through it but it doesn't act like a water block inside. How do I get rid of it?

2. I'm fairly certain SRB2 Doom builder just has a little "Z Offset" box, use that.

I just found that the "Z position" of a thing works that way. Thanks.

Erm, I'm not sure what you're doing wrong. It would help if I could get my hands on a test level.

Hmm, either extend the water block to the point that it reaches the floor, or add a second water block there.

I tried the first method, and it worked out. Thanks for the help.

Also, I'll upload it in a sec, at least this portion of the level. The only problem I have left is that there seems to be no texture between the waterfall and the first water block.

EDIT: Here it is. Also, here's a screen of what I'm referring to.

Alright, here's what I changed.

1)Control sector tagging. You only need one linedef for each water block. Don't use all four.

2)In that respect, you only need one blue colormap. You can tag it to all the water sectors.

then (the actual bugfixing part)