SRB2 Message Board

SRB2 Message Board (https://mb.srb2.org/index.php)
-   Software (2.1.X) (https://mb.srb2.org/forumdisplay.php?f=109)
-   -   SRB2 Doom Builder (https://mb.srb2.org/showthread.php?t=41066)

Eryn 01-25-2006 07:01 PM

Nice job, so far. Good luck with 3D mode. If you could add those features in, it'd help with my6 Sonic 2 mod, like, a LOT. Seeing as how there's 500 FOFs per level involved, not including special effects. >_<

JJames19119 01-26-2006 01:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oogaland
Code:

+ Z Offset feature added; no more messing with flags.

YES. WIN. =D

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roboashura
Nice job, so far. Good luck with 3D mode. If you could add those features in, it'd help with my6 Sonic 2 mod, like, a LOT. Seeing as how there's 500 FOFs per level involved, not including special effects. >_<

500? That would cause slow downs so bad, a snail race would finish before you even went one second in frames. >_>

Eryn 01-27-2006 10:45 PM

I'm exaggerating. >_>

ST218 01-27-2006 11:44 PM

Not necessarily JJames-He could have some hidden behind a part of the thok barrier or something.

Eryn 01-28-2006 12:53 AM

FOF's? That's a good idea.

BlazingPhoenix 01-28-2006 03:44 AM

Z OFFset?.....not to be rude but....wtf?

Shadow Hog 01-28-2006 05:20 AM

How far up in the air you are. Frequently the Y-Axis is used to such an effect, but DOOM is special like that.

Ritz 01-28-2006 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oogaland
+ Z Offset feature added; no more messing with flags.

So, does that mean that we, like, don't need to mess with bitsets for object heights now?

I love you.

Naga 01-28-2006 07:40 PM

*idea*

A nodesbuilder *better* than zennode for it, zennode has still got problems, and it keeps crashing on my computer.

i'm only saying this because i found the source code for it.

Super mystic sonic 01-29-2006 09:38 AM

I tried every nodebuilder,and it kept saying that it couldn't build the nodes. In 3D mode,everything works great. When it goes over to SRB2,it looks strange. I have like 6 levels that are unfinished,because i can't get the nodebuilder to work.

Eryn 01-29-2006 05:14 PM

You should be using Zennode. Do a search for the Doom Builder tutorial.

EDIT: Here, I found it for you. http://www.sepwich.com/ssntails/mb/v...ilder+tutorial

JJames19119 02-23-2006 09:04 AM

Just wondering...have there been any changes to this at all since your last post Oogaland? Also, I would love to download this as it is now if only for the things having a Z offset. I would fecking pay money for that, honestly.

Oogaland 02-23-2006 11:04 AM

Oh, I remember this thread. I kind of got sidetracked a little when assignments started being set, but I'll likely pick it up again at the end of the semester. Anyway, when I get back (in the labs just now; Fedora Core 3, nice) I'll build what I've done and release it.

JJames19119 02-23-2006 05:48 PM

Yay! ^_^ I can't wait.

Oogaland 02-23-2006 07:20 PM

http://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/s05698...rb2-230206.zip

This is just a snapshot of the current state. It's not exactly polished: no version number changes, for example. In fact, the changes are exactly those that I mentioned about a month ago.

Extract it into the directory where DB is currently installed. The executable has a different name, but the config file doesn't, as it should be compatible with the unadulterated binary, and nasty things might happen if you try to use the old config with the new binary (I had to add some fields to take account of certain things having different Z behaviours w.r.t. their flags). Also, don't bother trying to create anything other than SRB2 maps with this; it probably won't work.

Suggestions, criticisms etc. should be sent to /dev/null. Um, I mean, are welcome.

Ritz 02-23-2006 09:03 PM

Your penis size overwhelms me, Ooga. The Z-Offset feature alone makes DoomBuilder 43% more useful to me. One thing I noticed, though; it doesn't work on custom things. Results in a 'Runtime error 424: Object required' error. Any way around this?

Oogaland 02-23-2006 09:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ritz
One thing I noticed, though; it doesn't work on custom things. Results in a 'Runtime error 424: Object required' error. Any way around this?

Thanks for spotting that. I've updated the archive: http://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/s05698...rb2-230206.zip.

Ritz 02-23-2006 11:12 PM

Many thanks. Also, a suggestion: a custom things tab that automatically detects and lists all custom things in the wad. Though it wouldn't be able to give a name or an example image, it could at the very least list the thing number.

Tets 02-23-2006 11:20 PM

EDIT: Upon yet FURTHER investigation, I recalled that I downgraded by one version to avoid the texture browser crash. Obviously the SRB2 DB variant was incompatible with the previous version's configuration files, or something. I apologize for the flawed bug report, it works nicely now.

ST218 02-23-2006 11:31 PM

Majorly less than three to the Z-offset, but one question. Would it be possible to mirror it in 3D mode-ie showing the thing and being able to move it upward?


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.