SRB2 Message Board

SRB2 Message Board (https://mb.srb2.org/index.php)
-   Software (2.1.X) (https://mb.srb2.org/forumdisplay.php?f=109)
-   -   SRB2 Doom Builder (https://mb.srb2.org/showthread.php?t=41066)

Oogaland 06-07-2007 12:39 PM

You need to tell DB where SRB2.SRB is, so it can load textures and palettes and so on. In some circumstances it will prompt you to show it where it is, but otherwise you can set it on your own initiative by choosing the Files tab from the Configuration dialogue, which you can access from the Tools menu. There you'll find a list of all installed game configurations -- just one by default in SRB2DB -- for each of which you can set the corresponding IWAD.

Digiku 06-12-2007 09:24 AM

SRB2DB build 24 (I think?) colors all 0-height sectors' linedefs as if they were one-sided. I can find this useful for beginning mappers, but as an experienced mapper, I find it really confusing and also a little mind-wracking as I already know the ins and outs of linedefs, sectors, et al. Perhaps make it an option?

Shy Dog 07-01-2007 03:59 AM

When i get into it it says:

Error 424 in LoadConfiguration: Object required

?

:?

?

Flame 07-01-2007 04:20 AM

You're missing a '.cfg' file. I forget which one though.

Shy Dog 07-01-2007 06:47 AM

The CFG files i have are:

builder.cfg
colorschemes.cfg
fofpresets.cfg
shortcuts.cfg
srb2ex.cfg
srb2.cfg


Which one am i missing?

Oogaland 07-01-2007 08:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shy Dog
The CFG files i have are:

builder.cfg
colorschemes.cfg
fofpresets.cfg
shortcuts.cfg
srb2ex.cfg
srb2.cfg


Which one am i missing?

Did you install SRB2DB on top of ordinary Doom Builder? That won't work, because the config files are incompatible. Install them in separate places.

Vash 07-01-2007 10:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shy Dog
The CFG files i have are:

builder.cfg
colorschemes.cfg
fofpresets.cfg
shortcuts.cfg
srb2ex.cfg
srb2.cfg


Which one am i missing?

You're missing the Parameters.cfg file and the SOC.cfg file.

Oogaland 07-01-2007 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vash
You're missing the Parameters.cfg file and the SOC.cfg file.

Yes, that's true. Where did you download SRB2DB from? It should install those files. You can get the installer from here. The zipped version without the installer is only for patching existing (working!) installations of SRB2DB.

Vash 07-01-2007 01:42 PM

I downloaded it from that link.

EDIT: I don't believe, I know

Oogaland 07-01-2007 02:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vash
I downloaded it from that link.

EDIT: I don't believe, I know

Sorry, I meant Sky Dog. Your installation seems to have the correct files, but his is missing them, for whatever reason.

Vash 07-01-2007 03:48 PM

Sorry, I thought you were talking to me.

Shy Dog 07-01-2007 08:38 PM

I downloaded it from that exact link...

I got the non-install one, does that make a difference???

Shy Dog 07-01-2007 08:55 PM

I got it to work!!!

All i did was downloaded the install instead
:-)

Oogaland 07-01-2007 09:34 PM

Yeah, I should really label more clearly the fact that the non-installer one is just a patch... Glad you got it sorted out.

Warpshade 07-07-2007 10:14 PM

If you tag a FOF to tag 0, it doesn't get drawn in 3d mode

Chaos Zero 64 07-10-2007 01:25 PM

Have an option that lets you change the Doom Builder devil's face, since it's SRB2DB. Not just the icon, though.

Oogaland 07-10-2007 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chaos Zero 64
Have an option that lets you change the Doom Builder devil's face, since it's SRB2DB. Not just the icon, though.

I've avoided doing that so far (and the same for not removing 'Doom' from the name) to reinforce the idea that SRB2DB is in large part the same program as DB, and hence overwhelmingly CodeImp's work.

This doesn't apply to the rewrite, however: it gets its own icon.

Sonic Lord 666 07-16-2007 06:29 AM

I tried to Download it but it doesnt work. Do you have to hace a spesified computer.

Oogaland 07-16-2007 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sonic Lord 666
I tried to Download it but it doesnt work. Do you have to hace a spesified computer.

No, you don't. Make sure to download the complete version, and not the patch for previous versions. It also doesn't add any icons to the Start Menu; you need to run it from the directory into which you installed it. There are also some reported problems with Vista.

What exactly was the problem you had? An error message? If so, what did it say?

Segmint 07-16-2007 06:14 PM

You know what would be awesome? An SRB2 Wad Author, or at least an updated WCF so that the newer specials actually appear on the list, instead of editing the raw data to insert them...

T_T

Chrispy 07-16-2007 06:18 PM

Placeholder glitch...

Oogaland 07-16-2007 06:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Segmint
You know what would be awesome? An SRB2 Wad Author, or at least an updated WCF so that the newer specials actually appear on the list, instead of editing the raw data to insert them...

T_T

WA isn't open source, so that's not really possible, unfortunately. I also think there's a newer WCF floating around, somewhere.

SRB2 Builder (the rewrite, i.e. not SRB2 Doom Builder) will support a lot of the things that WA has that are missing from DB.

OmegaTails 07-28-2007 09:55 AM

*sucks at this program*

hard_core_gamer62 08-02-2007 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oogaland
You can download that file here. Put it in your system directory (normally C:\windows\system32) and then run the following at the command line:

Code:

regsvr32 mscomctl.ocx
The file will be installed and registered automatically in future builds. Thanks for pointing that out.

The link won't work. :(

Digiku 08-11-2007 08:11 AM

Feature suggestion for SRB2 Builder: make the file locks on wadfiles optional (or don't have any at all.) Rather, at each program focus, check to see if file was modified since it was last focused on. Offer to reload the file if changes have occurred.

If file is reloaded, then load the file from the filesystem. Unsaved changes in SRB2 Builder would be lost, but it's up to the user to be responsible. If file isn't reloaded, data used by SRB2 Builder stays intact, and so does the file in the filesystem. However, once the data is saved, the newer file in the filesystem would be overwritten, rather than all sorts of weird stuff happening with newer changes, nodebuilders, and all.

Notepad++ does a particularly good job at this.

Digiku 08-22-2007 08:28 AM

Feature suggestion: There's this really useful shortcut in SRB2DB where if you right-click and drag to move an item and you hold Shift, you're not restricted by the grid.

It only works in that one order, though: right-click first, and then press Shift. I'd like that shortcut to work both orders, i.e. if Shift is held first and then an item is right-click dragged.

SML89 08-28-2007 05:30 PM

Thanks!
 
Thanks for making SRB2 Doom Builder! If you hadn't made it, I wouldn't be editing maps! Oh, and thanks to whoever made the Doom Builder config for SRB2. Oh, by the way, would anyone happen to know of a C++ compiler that is not Dev C++?

Oogaland 08-28-2007 06:51 PM

Re: Thanks!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SML89
Thanks for making SRB2 Doom Builder! If you hadn't made it, I wouldn't be editing maps! Oh, and thanks to whoever made the Doom Builder config for SRB2. Oh, by the way, would anyone happen to know of a C++ compiler that is not Dev C++?

SRB2DB is still 99% ordinary DB, which is CodeImp's work, but thank you nonetheless.

If you don't like GCC (which is the compiler that Dev-C++ uses by default), try Visual C++. You can get a free edition here.

Rob 09-03-2007 11:24 PM

http://dw.sepwich.com/images/SRB2/fr...cutablebug.png

Basically, you can't use an alternative executable.

On the same token, it doesn't appear to add extra textures/flats wad when testing levels, which it should. It'll instead SigSev on level start.

Oogaland 09-03-2007 11:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark Warrior
http://dw.sepwich.com/images/SRB2/frigginexecutablebug.png

Basically, you can't use an alternative executable.

On the same token, it doesn't appear to add extra textures/flats wad when testing levels, which it should. It'll instead SigSev on level start.

There should be an option in the testing settings for whether the additional wad is to be included.

The first problem is a working directory problem. I don't know why it should be; all executables are treated equally by DB. At a guess, I'd say there might be a problem extracting the path from the filename, particularly if the path has spaces or elements exceeding eight-dot-three in length. I'll look into it. Thanks for reporting it.

Rob 09-03-2007 11:52 PM

As far as the first one goes, thank you.

The second, though, was a bit of me jumping to conclusions. It was a fault in the texture wad itself, not SRB2DB. Sorry 'bout that.

Digiku 09-15-2007 11:40 AM

Feature suggestion: Allow drag-and-drop to open files. SRB2 Doom Builder doesn't allow this.

Digiku 09-15-2007 11:58 AM

Feature suggestion: Show a linedef's direction in its info widget with all the other stuff. WadAuthor reports on this by saying something like "Linedef 10 - v10 to v11", and the mapper can find for themselves which is vertex 10 and which is vertex 11, so they know the direction like that. Perhaps you can show compass direction as well to save mappers from doing that.

Oogaland 09-15-2007 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Digiku
Feature suggestion: Show a linedef's direction in its info widget with all the other stuff. WadAuthor reports on this by saying something like "Linedef 10 - v10 to v11", and the mapper can find for themselves which is vertex 10 and which is vertex 11, so they know the direction like that. Perhaps you can show compass direction as well to save mappers from doing that.

The front-side indicator allows you to work out the direction. Do you think it would still be useful to display something like you suggest? I'd rather avoid it if possible, since adding things to the info-bar is fiddly.

Drag-and-drop is definitely a good idea, though.

Digiku 09-15-2007 12:22 PM

Oh yeah, the indicator. That's a good point. Personally I never really got the hang of that.

It's an odd situation, linedef direction. Looking at SRB2DB's info bar, I can see what you mean. I have almost no doubt it would be useful to show the direction somehow, but I bet there are other ways to do it other than the front-side indicator. Maybe direction arrows to accompany the indicator, like so:

---->---T--->----

But what makes it so odd is that it seems obtrusive, but making it a toggle-able option seems half-outlandish. And enabling it for scrolling specials only is really, really rigid.

Digiku 09-15-2007 12:23 PM

Placeholder glitch.

Oogaland 09-15-2007 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Digiku
Oh yeah, the indicator. That's a good point. Personally I never really got the hang of that.

It's an odd situation, linedef direction. Looking at SRB2DB's info bar, I can see what you mean. I have almost no doubt it would be useful to show the direction somehow, but I bet there are other ways to do it other than the front-side indicator. Maybe direction arrows to accompany the indicator, like so:

---->---T--->----

But what makes it so odd is that it seems obtrusive, but making it a toggle-able option seems half-outlandish. And enabling it for scrolling specials only is really, really rigid.

One possibility would be to put the direction on a tooltip. This also has the advantage of being easy to implement. ;)

The direction of a linedef is defined like so:
Code:

V1 ----T---- V2

Digiku 09-15-2007 12:41 PM

Another idea is to show the direction on the groupbox's title. Right now, it's "Linedef 10". It could possibly read, "Linedef 10 (NW)" if you could detect a relative direction, or "Linedef 10 (v1 to v2)" otherwise.

Prime 2.0 09-15-2007 08:54 PM

Feature suggestion:

Not sure if anyone else(including myself) has said this yet, but I think you should display a "map" of the map while in 3D mode... like, in the corner of the screen, you would see the normal top down 2-D view of the area the camera is in. This would preferably be able to be altered(change zoom, amount of the screen the "map" takes up, where the "map" is, details shown, etc.) and toggled on the fly. This would make it far easier to navigate while in 3D mode.

Oogaland 10-07-2007 09:17 PM

r27
 
New build, for the first time in almost six months. Get it here (full, with installer) or here (patch from r26, no installer). Here's what's new:
Code:

! Undo had 'flip horizontally' after a vertical flip.
+ Cascade tags with an arbitrary increment.
+ Added linedef and thing flags to find/replace.
+ Added bitwise AND as an operation in find/replace.
! FOFs with a tag of zero weren't recognised.
! Less error-prone when installed in same directory as DB; still a bad idea,
  though.
! Fixed Alt+F4-ing in 3D mode.
+ Made zero-height and zero-floor-difference colouring optional.
! Some snap-to-vertices fixes. Grid-snapping no longer needs to be on, and new
  vertices won't snap to the last vertex drawn.
+ Also snap to vertices when dragging single vertices.
! Overflow when starting 3D mode if the machine has been running too long.
+ Added Async Trigger to linedef flags.
+ Added DarkWarrior's updated Things info to the config. Thanks!
! Crash when editing a FOF with an invalid colourmap.

Nothing Earth-shattering, but a few annoying bugs have been fixed, and one or two requests were implemented. Comments/suggestions/bug reports are welcome, as always.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.