Wavestorm RPG (warning: .png picture heavy)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arrow

Old-school composer
EDIT: Site back up.

Whoa, cool. I haven't been here in two months, and my username hasn't been purged. And I'm still an admin on top of it! ^_^

Just wanted to show you guys a miniature little game I'm working on. It's based around the realtime RPG engine I had made in mIRC called Wavestorm. In fact, this RPG I'm creating was originally gonna be something else entirely, and as I decided to use the Wavestorm engine, it started morphing from 'random RPG using Wavestorm's engine' to 'Wavestorm RPG using random characters'.

At any rate, very little is done. So far, I've just been working non-stop on the battle engine. A lot of the options that will appear in the final are here already, though crude-looking. More than likely, everything about the game besides the battle engine and the character names will change; the world, the art, character graphics, animations, spell visuals, everything.

The demo can be found at http://www.dszone.info/Extra/Wavestorm/Demo.zip.

And since Mystic suggested I attempt to make this post non-ad-spammy, without "100% promise and 0% content", here are some screenshots. Remember, like I said, graphics (and almost everything else) will change; while I'm working on the battle engine first, I'm just sticking with default RPGM2K3 graphics. So don't be surprised at the lameness of the pics.

001.png

The main world. It's small. In fact, it's just a solitary island; only a bit of land for you to walk around and get in battles on.

002.png

The main menu, which you get to by hitting the Escape. Escape also doubles as the cancel key, while space is the action key. The menu's straightforward; "Skill" are magic spells. "Active" lets you choose between Final Fantasy-ish active and wait options for the ATB system.

003.png