SRB2 Message Board

SRB2 Message Board (https://mb.srb2.org/index.php)
-   SRB2 Discussion (https://mb.srb2.org/forumdisplay.php?f=52)
-   -   SRB2Wii thread (v2.0.0 RC4, news update 27/11/2010 10:46) (https://mb.srb2.org/showthread.php?t=31137)

frozenLake 01-01-2010 06:52 AM

Yes! Finally, it is here at last. Can't wait to try it!

Violo 01-01-2010 11:48 AM

Could you give us a dl link? Or is it on the front page?

akirahedgehog 01-01-2010 03:35 PM

Thanks Callum! This is a super update!

Chaos Zero 64 01-01-2010 09:29 PM

Took a while for me to set it up. I deleted all the old files, like you said, and moved the old /data/ folder to the /apps/srb2wii/ folder. Where it used to belong. The DOS screen actually telling me it belongs in /media/blkdev/srb2wii/ did nothing for me, either. I reread the last line of your post when I finally got it.

Colors is in, but controls are not. The mouse pointer is also new, but it doesn't move with the Wiimote. If it's supposed to work with a mouse or with a keyboard, then there's not much point to it.

Jazz 01-01-2010 10:21 PM

Well, I never tried any kind of homebrew until now and I have to say I'm impressed despite the flaws. I never expected that hardware as weak as a Wii could even load ERZ without crashing, much less be able to run it, albeit at an extremely low frame rate. I also got to see firsthand why some people complain that SRB2's controls are too slippery. I guess I'm just too used to a mouse and keyboard.

This is some nice work here. Keep it up.

ZDGamma 01-01-2010 10:44 PM

Good job Callum,i tried this homebrew and a can tell you that porting SRB2 to this platform is a hard task(i can't believe that some people compare the Wii with a PS3....),i just noticed one thing:the low frame rate on some big levels(like ERZ 1&2).
Keep it up.

Jazz 01-02-2010 05:30 AM

Also, as a quick question:

Is the d-pad on the Wiimote supposed to work with SRB2? I was trying to map movement to it and the game wasn't recognizing it.

Chaos Knux 01-02-2010 08:43 AM

I swear, when this is completed, it needs to be added to the HomeBrew Browser's database. That way, more people can enjoy it.

Violo 01-02-2010 10:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chaos Knux (Post 656586)
I swear, when this is completed, it needs to be added to the HomeBrew Browser's database. That way, more people can enjoy it.

This. Until most of the bugs have been sorted out and the menu and game modes working, it should be kept here.

akirahedgehog 01-05-2010 03:58 AM

Callum, can you please take a look at fixing reverse gravity? I can't play Neo Jade Gully without it working...

LoganA 01-05-2010 01:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by akirahedgehog (Post 656969)
Callum, can you please take a look at fixing reverse gravity? I can't play Neo Jade Gully without it working...

The display or the physics? If it's the display, I think this line would have to be removed.

Chaos Zero 64 01-05-2010 02:10 PM

It's the display. The frames' Y position are moved so far down, that you have to run fast to see them on the bottom of the screen.

akirahedgehog 01-05-2010 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chaos Zero 64 (Post 656995)
It's the display. The frames' Y position are moved so far down, that you have to run fast to see them on the bottom of the screen.

Exactly that. The player is displayed on Y far below but he collides into objects like he is still where he should be.

Razer112 01-10-2010 07:12 AM

I'd never know, Because I can't make it to ERZ1 on this version because I keep getting stuck on DSZ2 due to how the controls are with Analog + Nunchuck, without the ability to rotate the camera.
I'll just need to make a save past that on the PC version later.


It's a really good port! It just needs the menu fixed and it will be good enough for me!

Chaos Zero 64 01-10-2010 05:57 PM

You actually MADE it to DSZ2? I'm impressed. I couldn't finish DSZ1 because of the same problem as you: not being able to rotate the camera.

Callum suggested to turn Analog off, which is what I always do. Find the config.cfg and change it yourself.

Razer112 01-10-2010 06:30 PM

I did what I said earlier and used a save of GFZ as knuckles and just played until then.
I need to change the Config.cfg later.

Fawfulfan 01-10-2010 07:40 PM

When you say "copy your data files into the /srb2wii folder", which files exactly do I need to get the program to run?

Chaos Zero 64 01-10-2010 09:43 PM

Callum must be loving this. :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by Callum (Post 647139)
Okay, I am getting fed up with people here not being able to think for themselves.

The files you need are:

srb2.srb
sonic.plr
tails.plr
knux.plr
soar.dta
drill.dta
music.dta
rings.wpn

Happy? >_>


Max the hedgehog 01-12-2010 06:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Callum (Post 652270)
Check the first post, there is a new FAQ there.

SRB2Wii v1.5.0 beta 2 has been released for testing (30/11/2009 14:23):
- The IOS version now properly reboots to the Homebrew Channel. To circumvent the v4.2 update, the Homebrew Channel v1.0.6 had its title ID changed from HAXX to JODI. HAXX was hardcoded into the Linux kernel, so it had to be patched at compile time to load into JODI instead of HAXX.
- Fixed the Linux kernel killing the tarball conversion process. The process is much faster as well.
- Fixes to the SRB2Wii build system, rewrite will take place soon. (behind the scenes change)

TODO list for the final release of SRB2Wii:
--SRB2WII itself--
- Finish the rest of the SRB2Wii launcher functionality.
- Finish network support, and test what I can (Wi-Fi).
- Rewrite more portions of SRB2Wii (specifically the not rewritten portions of the launcher).
- Finish the SDL video driver (Alam).
- Modify the settings for ncurses to be more eye-catching.
--SRB2WII build system--
- Rewrite the SRB2Wii build system, so no more warnings and easier to modify.
- Make the build system create symbolic links to the libraries stored on FAT automatically so the name of the project can be changed easily and everything will be affected.
- Make the build system modify all the $NAME/$STAGE2 variables in all the files so the name of the project can be changed easily and everything will be affected.

so now wi-fi works? i just got the srb2wii 1.5! i have been reading this whole topic and still don't get why i can't move that mouse thing

ZeldaGamer00 01-12-2010 06:56 AM

The Cursor on the Main Menu? If Callum didn't change how the controls work in the Main Menu since the 1.5 beta, You need a USB Keyboard attached to your Wii to select anything besides the first option.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.