SRB2 Error

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dannyboy

Howdy! I'm fairly new to the game, but have been playing for the past week and decided I loved it. Some people may have seen me online using the same name...

Anyways, I was trying to show this to my friend on his PC, when a weird error occurred. Whenever trying to start the game, it comes up in a little windowed mode, and I get an error dialogue labelled SRB2 error and it says the following:

"signal_handler(): segment violation"

Now, I'm not studying computer engineering in school anymore, so this just confuses me. Anyone who could give me some help?

His computer's pretty new and has a nice graphics card. Here are some specs...

1 GB RAM
1.81 GHz
GForce 8700

That's all I know offhand...

Hey I remember playing a game with you just a few seconds ago.Anyway the problem is that there is something broken in the map so it is not your friends computer.

The error you received is quite common and can happen in too many cases for anyone to determine what your problem is.

The only suggestion I can give you is if this error is occurring upon starting the game, reinstall SRB2, and see if that does anything for you.

That is SRB2's scape goat, it's the message that shows up when the game has no clue what else to say!

Make sure not to use wads on your first time, as they themselves cause sigsevs often, and the hidden lava zone also sigsevs because SSN wins.

Dannyboy said:
Anyways, I was trying to show this to my friend on his PC, when a weird error occurred. Whenever trying to start the game, it comes up in a little windowed mode, and I get an error dialogue labelled SRB2 error and it says the following:

"signal_handler(): segment violation"

Now, I'm not studying computer engineering in school anymore, so this just confuses me. Anyone who could give me some help?