Character wad Sprites are white.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katch

The old Donut guy
Recently, I have been learning how to make character wads, so I began to make a test wad (a UFO) for srb2kart to get started. I got everything working, with the help of a some people from the IRC. But, every time I play as my wad, the UFO is white.

The picture of the UFO:
3whw4.jpg
/
35kvriq.jpg

Yes, I'm new to making sprites, but that isn't the point.

This is what it looks like in-game:
a0uiv8.png

I already checked the wiki like a thousand times, but if there is something that relates to this topic on the wiki, please post the link. I actually think the problem is how I set the prefcolor and startcolor, but I am probably wrong.
Thanks for any help in advance.

Here is the beta link, tell me if you find out what's wrong: http://www.sendspace.com/file/wct4yi

Last edited:
That may be something you want to talk to ChaosZero64 about. What you're making the sprite for is for a different modification, rather than original SRB2.

What IS it set to? It's either that or the starcolor messing with it.

Well, after I couldn't find out what was the issue, I set the prefcolor to 2, and the start color to 18. I honestly don't have a good understanding on how both of them function.

Well, I did what you said and the Ufo remains white. I also deleted S_SKIN and rewrote it and nothing changed.

SLADE can handle BMP files.

I'm aware, it's just that in fact SLADE displays anything already in SRB2 wads as PNGs, complete with not displaying any traces of cyan at all.

In fact, I also recall some case back months ago where somehow cyan was made a visible color in a sprite, not long after the SRB2 Community first found out about SLADE 3.

Well, I did save my sprites as .bmp, but I have multiple options to save it as a .bmp file. (In MS Paint)
-MonoChrome Bitmap
-16 Color Bitmap
-256 Color Bitmap
-24-bit Bitmap

Which one? My guess is 256 Color Bitmap.

Last edited: