What could a Sonic Adventure 3 do to the sonic franchise?

just wondering what other people think of this. ive thought about this a whole bunch recently. honestly i think if a hypothetical SA3 does bad or is even just ok it could ruin the whole franchise forever. then again though people probably thought sonic could never recover from sonic 06.

(also sorry if i messed up in making this thread or something, this is my first time making a thread on a message board.)

That really depends on a number of factors, not the least of which being whether they follow the design and game mechanics of SA1 and SA2.

(You did fine making this thread! All's good here)

It depends entirely on how good the game is really, if a spiritual successor to the Sonic Adventure games were to be made and it did well then we would probably get a few more entries in that part of the franchise. If a hypothetical Sonic Adventure 3 did release and then did badly, then the franchise will carry on and we'll just get games that focus on another part of the series like the Classic series, or something else who knows! Sonic is if one thing, very resillient to dying out apparently.

Although I always got the impression that Sonic 06 was our attempt at a Sonic Adventure 3 even if it didn't have the name, it had the same gameplay and narrative style with several characters that feed into a 'final' story at the end much like the first two Adventure games did. Considering that, a modern attempt at an Adventure game probably wouldn't be called Adventure 3 but stranger things have happened.

Who knows, maybe we'll get a Sonic Adventure 3 announced for the 30th anniversary of the franchise and I'll look a clown.

Maybe I'm jaded, but I don't think Sega of today could pull it off.