Quick question for anyone who wants to answer...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've used OpenGL all the time since I started playing SRB2 with v1.09.4.

I can't stand the shaky camera of software mode, and Nearest Mipmap is amazing.

I pretty much only use the hardware renderer (OpenGL). In fact, the only times in the many past years I've used the software renderer in SRB2 has been when slopes were in development without OpenGL compatibility and when "paper sprites" were in development without OpenGL compatibility. (By "in development", I mean I downloaded some source code from GitLab and compiled it myself, before it was/is officially released in a compiled SRB2, like version 2.1.15 (slopes) or 2.2 (paper sprites, presumably).)

The primary reason I use OpenGL is because I can't stand the 256-colour limit. I'm okay with textures and such being restricted to a 256-colour palette, but having the renderer be restricted to a 256-colour palette too just looks bad to me when colourmaps, darkness, or any sort of colour tinting is involved.

I'm perfectly aware that there are people (including some/most/all(?) of SRB2's developers) who like that look and find it stylistic, but I just personally don't like it.

Your opinion isn't like mine so that immediately makes it wrong.

All jokes aside some of the colors do look horrible, specifically yellow. 2.2 and it's pallette couldn't come sooner.

I don't, OpenGL mode for some reason looks less colorful compared to Software, especially COLORMAPs, they don't look as good as in Software mode.

I don't... well not anymore;
Back at 2015 I posted a thread asking how Open GL works, I got it to work via the thread and I just found it bad. I just don't like how if you're over a thing, you can't see it.