• Do not use Works in Progress as a way of avoiding the releases system! Works in Progress can be used for sharing early betas and for getting suggestions for improvement. Releases of finished content are not allowed in this forum! If you would like to submit a finished addon, click here for instructions on how to do so.

Seaside Valley Zone AKA MetalHead7's Mod (Under Construction)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SeventhSentinel

In charge of way less than you might think
Administrator
Sonic Team Junior
Kart Krew™️
I'm new to mapping/wadding/whatever you want to call it and I would like the community's opinion on what I have so far.
This is about half of the first act of a GFZ-esque zone meant to be the first level of a mod.
DL links: Finished SVZ1 Beta 0.01h (Current)
Beta 0.01g
Beta 0.01f
Beta 0.01e
Beta 0.01d
Beta 0.01c
Beta 0.01a
Release Notes: Act 1 is almost finished! Try "tunes 1" in the console, I dare you.

EDIT: I composed the music myself. I used Anvil Studio, MODplug, and Audacity. Credit to Ninian on #srb2fun for helping me rip Sonic 2 DAC samples.
Current Screenshots
auxpbb.png

New and improved version using new textures.

34hj52r.png

More new textures. Guess where these leaves are from?
Old screenshots
dsb9e.jpg

Title card.

19xtv7.jpg

A beach for aesthetic purposes only -- no secrets here (yet).

21npnxj.png

A small cave with Crawlas that leads into a large area.

30w00ok.png

Shot of my favorite area.

1z32no2.png

All trees in this zone can be explored. You can jump up through branches.

Last edited:
Pretty good! I hope you don't mind me giving some advice, though:

First off, I like the theme and ideas you've brought in to this map. The cave staircase thing at the start was interesting. But, everything seems a little too cramped. Try making the map more open, add multiple paths, secret areas, etc.

Secondly, too much crawlas. Try to have a maximum of 6 per room, or whatever.