I need a new laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

clairebun

Community Noise Maker
Sonic Team Junior
It's been a good run, but this one's about on its last legs. Noisy fan, semi-broken headphone jack, eerily red screen at startup. I think it's time to pick a new one up. Before I do, I'd like suggestions and tips for buying laptops.

First and foremost, I won't be getting a mac, and I probably will be getting Windows 7. I may look into Ubuntu, although I've never tried the operating system before. My questions are:

How does Ubuntu relate to Windows?

Which systems can run SRB2 and which systems can't?

And which kind of laptop (pocket or regular size, brand, whatever) would you personally recommend for which reasons?

Thanks in advance.

Look around for one of those OS-less laptops, I can pick up a dual core with 4gb for £300 over here, which is damn cheap.

Right now I'm using a Lenovo Thinkpad T400. It's 14-inch, has comparable performance to an entry-level or mid-range desktop, and great Linux compatibility (save for the optional fingerprint reader, and the switchable ATI graphics if you choose them, since ATI drivers in Linux kinda suck, though you can always switch to the Intel graphics in the BIOS).

It has a few annoyances (EG. PC speaker beep on holding too many keys down, but you can also turn that off in the BIOS), and the Windows OS it ships with it is a bit bloated (slow startup - I'm still trying to figure out how to shed some pounds from it). On the other hand, I love its keyboard layout (much, much better than the vast majority of laptops, since it's actually similar to that of a desktop system), has good battery life (I typically get around 4-6 hours with the 9-cell battery. People claim you get get up to ten hours (!!) but I chose the CCFL-backlit 1440x900 display over the LED-backlit 1280x800 screen - the LED one is supposed to be more efficient with power), and again, great Linux support.