Dividing a room with an FOF

Status
Not open for further replies.

blm768

I'm just starting out with SRB2 level design, and I'm trying to divide a sector into two vertically stacked rooms with an FOF in the center. I know how to create a standard FOF, but I'm having trouble preventing the FOF sector's linedefs from merging with the room sector. Is it possible to make the FOF stretch wall-to-wall without any gaps, or will I have to make a gap along at least one edge?

I think you should probably put that back on. I think that if is kept on that there will be less errors, but I could be wrong. I also think you can zoom in a bunch of times to make it not attach to existing point while having the stitch vertices on.

It turns out that I spoke too early; it's refusing to work again...
If I leave stitching on, it doesn't seem to create a new sector for the FOF when I copy it and paste it over itself. Without stitching, I get overlapping linedefs.
I'm not sure what the right technique is, but it should be basically the same as filling a pit with water. How do you get that to work?

Try placing the vertices on points like this:

First, make sure everything is set-up.

Ixm3B.png

Then, set up the FOF's level sector like this, in between the walls so that it floats separately.

To5R4.png

Set up everything with the FOF so it's to your likings.

oPdtn.png

Then, stretch the in-game FOF Sector Lines to match the lines of the walls:

98UsT.png

And you're all set.

nMWXG.png

In-game screenshot

I could try that, but I haven't messed with linedef executors yet, and my room is an irregular shape. There must be a way to do it; the bridges in GFZ1 seem to reach to the edges of their parent sectors in the editor.

I could try that, but I haven't messed with linedef executors yet, and my room is an irregular shape. There must be a way to do it; the bridges in GFZ1 seem to reach to the edges of their parent sectors in the editor.