Signature Line Image Filesize

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mystic

Alrighty, now a newbie here pointed out that he saw a lot of people getting away with breaking the avatar rules, and while the avatar rules aren't being broken as much as he says, the signature rules really are.

After doing a bunch of right clicking on older member's signature lines, almost every image in signatures I checked was rather large, some topping out around 70 KB. Images in signatures aren't supposed to be that big, really. Seriously, the point is to keep load time down...it's been a while since I checked, and I obviously lost out because of that. It's more than possible to have an avatar and signature banner in less than 20 KB, but it requires compression and some creativity. If it's too difficult with the images you're using, just use a basic text-based signature. Image compression is a powerful tool, and doesn't need to make your image look like crap as a result.

I simply removed a lot of offending images to deal with the problem, mostly from older members that post a lot (since they were the posts that I checked).

If you have an image in your signature still, please check it against the filesize limitations. 20 KB is rather tight, but it's more than doable if you try, so give it a shot. If some people have some suggestions on how to lower an image's filesize, feel free to post tips in this topic, I'd assume it'll be rather educational for a lot of the people on the forum, and helps keep bandwidth costs down on whatever website you use to host your images.

I still think 20KB is rather asinine, but what would it matter to me when I use text? (That and it's not my call. Important one, that.)

Seriously, though, why hasn't this country gotten its act together and moved away from dial-up?...

I guess I'll help out with this..
If you want to have a nice sig, but it's too big, you may want to change the type of file it is.