SRB2 Message Board

SRB2 Message Board (https://mb.srb2.org/index.php)
-   Bug Reports (2.0.X) (https://mb.srb2.org/forumdisplay.php?f=88)
-   -   Fixed Auto Aim bug? (https://mb.srb2.org/showthread.php?t=33900)

Zinos 06-18-2010 05:29 PM

Auto Aim bug?
 
I was playing in a net game and I was about to BOMB someone I aimed down at the player an shot...even though the I had aimed down the BOMB had gone strait out horizontally. I couldn't shoot up or down even when I was aiming perfectly. This auto aim glitch strikes with out warning. One second its fine and the next I use BOMB (or BOUNCE) and I cant hit my target, usually SCATTER and the default ring usually aren't affected and RAIL isn't affected at all. This has cost me many points and wins and its not a one time thing, it can last for up to 5 min. I've disabled auto aim entirely now but please, does anyone know how to fix this?

Goddratini 06-18-2010 05:35 PM

I have to press the esc key to fix it, but I know what your talking about.
You can look straight up and it will just go horizontally with no vertical influence what so ever.

Spazzo 06-18-2010 08:13 PM

AUTOAIM is really meant for those who play without MOUSELOOK...putting the two together kinda defeats the point. Why have the game aim for you if you're manually aiming to begin with?

Regardless, I've never witnessed this issue myself...On the contrary, I have witnessed the opposite (AUTOAIM failing to register in cases where it should have) effect. I'll look into it.

fox Unit 01 06-19-2010 10:27 PM

Slight side note, but autoaim is still not written to / read from config.cfg. This means someone who doesn't use autoaim will have to manually turn it off every time they play, or toss it in autoexec.cfg

Mr. Mystery 06-19-2010 11:46 PM

I never turn autoaim off and not once did I witness this bug in 2.0.4. It's becoming truly irritating.

Spazzo 06-20-2010 02:12 AM

The only time AUTOAIM has been touched between v2.0.4 and now was r5745.

p_mobj.c:
Code:

                // if not autoaim, or if the autoaim didn't aim something, use the mouseaiming
                if ((!((source->player->pflags & PF_AUTOAIM) && cv_allowautoaim.value)
                        || (!linetarget)) || (flags2 & MF2_RAILRING))
                {
                        slope = AIMINGTOSLOPE(source->player->aiming);
                }
        }


K.S. 06-20-2010 02:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Mystery (Post 676655)
I never turn autoaim off and not once did I witness this bug in 2.0.4. It's becoming truly irritating.

That would be because AUTOAIM outright didn't WORK in 2.0.4 or prior if you had any rail ammo on you whatsoever -- even if you didn't have Rail currently selected.

Goddratini 06-20-2010 02:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spazzo (Post 676478)
AUTOAIM is really meant for those who play without MOUSELOOK...putting the two together kinda defeats the point. Why have the game aim for you if you're manually aiming to begin with?

Regardless, I've never witnessed this issue myself...On the contrary, I have witnessed the opposite (AUTOAIM failing to register in cases where it should have) effect. I'll look into it.

>>

lol, not really. It still improves your aim, unless your dead-on perfect(which I admit I am not :S)

glaber 06-20-2010 02:24 AM

I always found auto aim useful in combo with mouselook+Reset Camera (set to spacebar), Until this bug anyway.

Spazzo 06-20-2010 02:32 AM

It doesn't actually "improve" your aim -- all it does is adjust the y angle of your fired shots to closer match that of your opponent. Players who don't use MOUSELOOK -- I'm one of them -- get a lot of mileage out of an ability that gives them aiming capabilities that they wouldn't otherwise have. It makes no sense for those already aiming for themselves, because it merely overrides your y angle with AUTOAIM's y angle, which is the source of this 'issue'.

K.S. 06-20-2010 02:34 AM

Guys, I'm pretty sure this 'bug' is simply autoaim noticing that there's a player dead in front of you or something, so it fires straight towards him/her despite where your view is currently aiming at. Like I just said, autoaim didn't work at all in prior versions if you had any rail ammo whatsoever, so...

Zinos 06-21-2010 01:40 AM

Still glitches out when I'm alone...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 犬夜叉 (Post 676682)
Guys, I'm pretty sure this 'bug' is simply autoaim noticing that there's a player dead in front of you or something, so it fires straight towards him/her despite where your view is currently aiming at. Like I just said, autoaim didn't work at all in prior versions if you had any rail ammo whatsoever, so...

Even when i am alone in my own game, the glitch still happens. Also the RING always shoots strait out, but not at a specific target.

Fred 06-21-2010 02:40 AM

This just happened to me. It just fires directly in front of you, at a zero angle.

tailsmastermind 06-21-2010 02:53 AM

I used a rail ring and it fixes itself.

Spazzo 06-21-2010 02:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tailsmastermind (Post 676819)
I used a rail ring and it fixes itself.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spazzo (Post 676675)
The only time AUTOAIM has been touched between v2.0.4 and now was r5745.

p_mobj.c:
Code:

                // if not autoaim, or if the autoaim didn't aim something, use the mouseaiming
                if ((!((source->player->pflags & PF_AUTOAIM) && cv_allowautoaim.value)
                        || (!linetarget)) || (flags2 & MF2_RAILRING))
                {
                        slope = AIMINGTOSLOPE(source->player->aiming);
                }
        }


That would be why.

Zinos 06-21-2010 03:27 AM

Yeah, I figured it was something to do with the new auto aim adjustments in 2.0.5/2.0.6
- Also the reason RAIL doesn't have the glitch is because autoaim for RAIL is disabled in 2.0.5/2.0.6

(correct me if I'm wrong)

K.S. 06-21-2010 03:45 AM

Uh, there WERE no autoaim adjustments for 2.0.5/6, besides the rail ring fix. That's what Spazzo is also trying to point out.

Zinos 06-22-2010 05:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 犬夜叉 (Post 676824)
Uh, there WERE no autoaim adjustments for 2.0.5/6, besides the rail ring fix. That's what Spazzo is also trying to point out.

yeah that's what I was saying. I've never had this problem before in 2.0.4 (or earlier) but the new up date must have the bug. It could be just a random bug but I thought since the autoaim has been modified, even if its only just for RAIL, it might be the reason for the bug...
(I'm not saying this is the reason but its my best guess)

Nox 06-22-2010 09:51 PM

Yeah, auto aim should be save in the CONFIG.CFG file

But on a side note, Zinos, do you use anim8tor?
Also, its nice to meet another Animator!

Zinos 06-23-2010 02:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nox (Post 677044)
Yeah, auto aim should be save in the CONFIG.CFG file

But on a side note, Zinos, do you use anim8tor?
Also, its nice to meet another Animator!

Yes Nox, I do use anim8tor, how did you know


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.