Help using springs properly?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, I'm fairly new to this game, and it is a LOT of fun, and pretty amazing that it's all done with an FPS engine.

However, I seem to be having a lot of trouble with springs, particularly spring series, in that I can see where they're SUPPOSED to take me, but they always seem to over or undershoot the next spring, sometimes leading to death.

I realize this is a byproduct of how the physics work with regards to momentum and all, but is there some sort of technique for landing on springs so that I don't have to spend lives figuring out the exact angle and speed I need to hit each spring at?

If you're talking about springs from Vanilla levels, simply let go off the controls after being sprung, else you'll affect your trajectory away from the intended one and miss the other spring in the chain.

If you're talking about springs from Vanilla levels, simply let go off the controls after being sprung, else you'll affect your trajectory away from the intended one and miss the other spring in the chain.
It's just like Sonic 2;
If you hold right as you go to a diagonal spring, your speed will be reduced.

I can't think of any spring chain that is deadly if failed off the top of my head, not in the vanilla maps at least, although I know for sure there are some in various mods...

That said, there seem to be many issues with spring chains in general in this game, and I never quite understood why.