SRB2 Message Board

SRB2 Message Board (https://mb.srb2.org/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://mb.srb2.org/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Ask a Quick Question, Maybe Get An Answer Sometime (https://mb.srb2.org/showthread.php?t=40922)

Boinciel 11-13-2015 05:49 PM

Ask a Quick Question, Maybe Get An Answer Sometime
 
This is the thread for all the general questions about unrelated topics that don't really warrant their own thread.

Stuff that might get an answer, stuff that could be easily solved by Googling, and stuff that is too obscure for most people to know all goes here and someone will probably answer.

Maybe.



Here's a sample question for someone out there to answer, although this one's more of an opinion question than anything: Is the RGB colour wheel or the standard red, yellow, and blue colour wheel a better colour palette to work with?

EDIT: Just to clarify, you don't have to answer the last person's question in order to ask your own, and you don't have to ask a question yourself.

CobaltBW 11-13-2015 06:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boinciel (Post 773009)
Is the RGB colour wheel or the standard red, yellow, and blue colour wheel a better colour palette to work with?

I don't think I've ever switched away from RGB in any of my projects, but I can't imagine it would make any difference. Seems like largely a matter of preference.



Is Kirby Rainbow Curse worth buying? Deciding between it and Woolly World to have something to play with my girlfriend.

Zipper 11-13-2015 08:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CobaltBW (Post 773012)
I don't think I've ever switched away from RGB in any of my projects, but I can't imagine it would make any difference. Seems like largely a matter of preference.



Is Kirby Rainbow Curse worth buying? Deciding between it and Woolly World to have something to play with my girlfriend.

If you like easy games, then sure. Rainbow Curse seems cute and creative, but it doesn't look like it presents a challenge at any point. Take this opinion with a grain of salt though, I've only watched playthroughs.

Is Python good to learn? I know it's useful but I don't know WHERE exactly it might come in handy.

Boinciel 11-13-2015 09:03 PM

I've never been able to get Python to work on my computer, but I often see it used for small cross-platform scripts. If writing your own visual novels appeals to you, Ren'py seems like a reasonable engine to use (requiring python scripting iirc).

Wolfy 11-14-2015 12:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zipper (Post 773022)
Is Python good to learn? I know it's useful but I don't know WHERE exactly it might come in handy.

From what I know, Python is a pretty powerful alternative to compiled languages for writing simple programs. I don't know much about where it might come in handy though, all I know is that you have a lot of flexibility with it. That and that the syntax is kinda weird. Shouldn't be too hard to learn since you already know Lua.

That being said, someone please correct me if I'm making any mistakes here.

Ritz 11-14-2015 07:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boinciel (Post 773009)
Here's a sample question for someone out there to answer, although this one's more of an opinion question than anything: Is the RGB colour wheel or the standard red, yellow, and blue colour wheel a better colour palette to work with?

Weird question, what are you using them for? RGB is an additive color model, RYB is subtractive- you can only use the former for digital work and you should only use the latter for physical work. Also, neither constitutes a "palette" so much as the entire gamut of usable colors, so they're both effectively equal. HSV is the most intuitive color model for painting.

I was under the impression Python was only useful for 3D rigging.

Torgo 11-14-2015 06:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ritz (Post 773037)
HSV is the most intuitive color model for painting.

Are you talking about using physical media like watercolor, oil, and so on or the digital sense? If the former, how does that work?

Ritz 11-14-2015 10:41 PM

Digital, but the principle applies either way when viewing hue, saturation and value as separate components is key to understanding color. Loomis' Creative Illustration is the best book on the subject if anyone's curious

Boinciel 11-16-2015 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ritz (Post 773037)
Weird question, what are you using them for? RGB is an additive color model, RYB is subtractive- you can only use the former for digital work and you should only use the latter for physical work. Also, neither constitutes a "palette" so much as the entire gamut of usable colors, so they're both effectively equal. HSV is the most intuitive color model for painting.

Physical media, but I'm not intending to use them for the creation of individual pieces of art. Rather, I want to apply colour theory to my daily life in an attempt to make the world around me and myself slightly more aesthetically pleasing. Small stuff like arrangement of certain colours of stuff in my room, etc.

Effigy The Fox 04-24-2016 03:27 AM

Is it possible, for a user to ask an admin to remove a user account? Like, they know they're not going to use it, and they don't want it to be left there. Or, does it just have to left inactive?

Volkatrace 04-24-2016 04:59 AM

Just leave it. If an user really don't wants the account anymore, he will not back again.

Nekoishi 04-24-2016 06:29 AM

Wondering have I gone insane; to find the truth in front of me
 
how bad of an idea is it to eat a buffalo chicken hot pocket at 2:30 in the morning

Knux576 04-24-2016 08:01 AM

Well for one thing staying up until 2:30 in the morning isn't recommended by sleep experts. Staying up late can cause fogginess and a permanent loss of brain cells. Second, eating Hot Pockets this late can cause fat storage late at night when your metabolism is slowing down, and the spike in blood sugar can cause disruption of sleep.

Now excuse me while I finish this bag of chips and try get to sleep before 3:30 my time.

Rumia1 04-24-2016 10:36 AM

PFF, that's nothing! I am gonna go eat a leftover pizza and go to bed before 5 am hopefully.

Blaze The Cat 04-24-2016 06:53 PM

Eating just before you sleep can cause indigestion and possibly excess acid. Both will cause discomfort, and the latter can damage your stomach.

If I use "MT_RING|MT_SUPERRINGBOX" in a Hook for, say, ShouldDamage, would that work for checking both objects at once?

Code:

addHook("ShouldDamage", function(hurtplayer, hazard, shooter, uselessvar)
    if hurtplayer.ghost
        return false
    end
end, MT_RING|SUPERRINGBOX)


Monster Iestyn 04-24-2016 07:30 PM

No, it wouldn't work. The reason why | makes sense with the object flags is that they're all powers of 2, which allows them to be combined together; object types aren't like this, on the other hand.

And anyway SRB2 would spout an error in the console saying "SUPERRINGBOX" is an undefined variable or something.

FuriousFox 04-24-2016 11:29 PM

You would have to make two separate hooks, though they could both reference the same function.

Code:

local function hereIsTheFunctionName(hurtplayer, hazard, shooter, uselessvar)
    if hurtplayer.ghost
        return false
    end
end

addHook("ShouldDamage", hereIsTheFunctionName, MT_RING)
addHook("ShouldDamage", hereIsTheFunctionName, MT_SUPERRINGBOX)


Potatosack 04-28-2016 12:42 AM

Is it possible to create a Water FOF that you cannot drown in?

fickleheart 04-28-2016 04:08 AM

Not through purely mapping, but you have three solutions, in order of increasing versatility:

  • You can globally change the underwater timer in the MAINCFG block of an SOC lump to an infinite timer. Easy setup, but affects every map while loaded.
  • In Mario mode, there is no drowning. Easy to set up and adjustable per-map, but also comes with all of Mario Mode's other changes, so.
  • Use some sort of Lua scripting. Whether you look for a specific header value in the current map or a specific sector special for the player to be in, you can disable/speed up/slow down/etc the water timer for any water sector, for certain water sectors, at certain water heights, or only while the player is facing left. You'd have to figure out how to script whatever functionality you want.


----------------



How does one strive a good balance between work and play? Particularly once it gets hard to distinguish the work from the play. Asking for a friend.

CowboyJoseph64 04-30-2016 03:19 AM

I am using a Windows 7 laptop, a gateway NV79. I factory reset this not too long ago, and after I factory reset, nothing but the web browsers and Hamachi wanted to connect to the internet. And after I updated firefox, it couldn't connect. And now internet explorer isn't cooperating either. I'm using chrome. Skype doesn't connect, SRB2 doesn't connect, PokeMMO doesn't connect... steam connects, oddly enough. But the fact SKYPE, made by MICROSOFT, for MICROSOFT windows 7, raises a red flag there. I've tried everything. Firewall? It's passing them through, still won't connect. Proxy? I set it from medium-high to just medium, still won't connect. I could set it lower, but then it spooks me with saying the computer's insecure. Update windows? still won't connect. I can't for the life of me find the solution to the probem by googling. Can anyone help?

MosaicMario 04-30-2016 10:18 AM

Have you tried updating all of your drivers? That might fix the problem but I don't know if that works the same as on a desktop PC. You might wanna use some software like CPU-Z to detect your hardware and find ALL the drivers for your components (not only network).
Hope that helps

Yacker 04-30-2016 01:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CowboyJoseph64 (Post 778475)
I am using a Windows 7 laptop, a gateway NV79. I factory reset this not too long ago, and after I factory reset, nothing but the web browsers and Hamachi wanted to connect to the internet. And after I updated firefox, it couldn't connect. And now internet explorer isn't cooperating either. I'm using chrome. Skype doesn't connect, SRB2 doesn't connect, PokeMMO doesn't connect... steam connects, oddly enough. But the fact SKYPE, made by MICROSOFT, for MICROSOFT windows 7, raises a red flag there. I've tried everything. Firewall? It's passing them through, still won't connect. Proxy? I set it from medium-high to just medium, still won't connect. I could set it lower, but then it spooks me with saying the computer's insecure. Update windows? still won't connect. I can't for the life of me find the solution to the probem by googling. Can anyone help?

Probably a stupid suggestion, but have you checked if your date is set correctly? I had a similar issue once (factory reset laptop, couldn't connect to internet anymore) and correcting the date fixed it. Though I'm not entirely sure as to why that'd impact SRB2 or other games...

Torgo 04-30-2016 03:26 PM

On the command line you can try ipconfig/flushdns then ipconfig/release, then ipconfig/renew. If that doesn't do anything, try to right click on the wifi internet access icon and click troubleshoot problems. If none of those works, it is probably a driver issue or maybe a wifi password issue.

Prime 2.0 05-03-2016 04:11 PM

Sometimes physically turning the router off and on again will fix issues like that, as well.

CowboyJoseph64 05-04-2016 04:50 PM

Chrome stopped working, it said it was blocked...? Again, the firewall was letting it through. That was weird but in any case I did another factory reset, and strangely enough that fixed it. Thank you everyone for the suggestions though, I really appreciate it. Such a strange occurence, I dunno what the hell I did wrong. :P

"Lat'" 05-06-2016 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ashes2thestars (Post 778727)
If two Silvers used psychokinesis on each other at the same time, what would happen?

https://giant.gfycat.com/DensePaleAntelope.gif

HellHawkX 05-06-2016 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by "Lat'" (Post 778734)
<Gif>

This reminds me of that one time I broke Shadow's CC when working on it
http://i.imgur.com/rQhLuvp.gif

Kitoko 05-14-2016 04:45 AM

How many Luas from the releases forum can be added before SRB2 goes crazy?

toaster 05-14-2016 12:22 PM

You can add a maximum of 32 files at a time due to hardcoded limits, but it's not like they'll conflict with each-other if they just modify one or two enemies each. It's only stuff like Brak Eggman and Paper Mario that mess with each-other because they use per-skin scaling stuff, or multiple skins that use the same player struct variables for different things, or multiple mods that all make the Eggmobile do different stuff.

Larztard 05-14-2016 07:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by toaster (Post 778955)
You can add a maximum of 32 files at a time due to hardcoded limits, but it's not like they'll conflict with each-other if they just modify one or two enemies each. It's only stuff like Brak Eggman and Paper Mario that mess with each-other because they use per-skin scaling stuff, or multiple skins that use the same player struct variables for different things, or multiple mods that all make the Eggmobile do different stuff.

Does this also apply to Lua Scripts inside wad files as well like this?


Steel Titanium 05-14-2016 07:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by toaster (Post 778955)
You can add a maximum of 32 files at a time due to hardcoded limits, but it's not like they'll conflict with each-other if they just modify one or two enemies each. It's only stuff like Brak Eggman and Paper Mario that mess with each-other because they use per-skin scaling stuff, or multiple skins that use the same player struct variables for different things, or multiple mods that all make the Eggmobile do different stuff.

Are you sure about that, I just tried this and 26 is the maximum of files i can add.

Prime 2.0 05-14-2016 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steel Titanium (Post 778971)
Are you sure about that, I just tried this and 26 is the maximum of files i can add.

32 files including the ones the game adds itself, like srb2.srb and music.dta.

fickleheart 05-14-2016 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larztard (Post 778969)
Does this also apply to Lua Scripts inside wad files as well like this?


The limit only applies to real files loaded from the filesystem. You can have as many script lumps as you want inside a single WAD, at least until you run the game out of memory (which you'll probably never do without trying to)

Fres 05-14-2016 11:11 PM

Would levels generally work fine if a Control Sector was inside another control sector?

fickleheart 05-15-2016 01:37 AM

Unless one of the control sectors' specials does fancy things with adjacent sectors (like the moving platform specials), it won't hurt anything.

Zwip-Zwap Zapony 05-21-2016 08:57 AM

How do I make my user title here ("Please just call me Zappy.") bigger, bolder, and generally all-around just more visible?

Mystic 05-21-2016 09:18 AM

Our forum customization is meant to NOT be obnoxiously large, bright red, and using the blink tag =P

StarmakerJasper 05-24-2016 04:17 PM

Is it worth getting a N3DS over a 3DS at this point even if there aren't any games in specific I'd get a N3DS exclusively for playing it with? There are a couple of features I find are kind of cool, like the 3D following your vision and the faster processing times but I'm not sure whether or not it'll be worth the extra money down the road.

Mostly asking because I sort of kind of... left my 3DS in the wash and being a major dummy I tried to turn it on and plug it in multiple times instead of letting it sit in rice, so it's probably dead for good (this happened on my birthday yesterday it sucked). I'm gonna call Nintendo at some point later today to have them look at it or at least ask about transferring my NNID to a new one so might as well ask about how the N3DS is faring with people who have it.

Prime 2.0 05-24-2016 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jasper (Post 779574)
Is it worth getting a N3DS over a 3DS at this point even if there aren't any games in specific I'd get a N3DS exclusively for playing it with? There are a couple of features I find are kind of cool, like the 3D following your vision and the faster processing times but I'm not sure whether or not it'll be worth the extra money down the road.

Well I like it, anyways. The biggest argument is probably the loading times on more recent games like smash bros - the n3DS cuts down the time for those a lot, I hear.

MosaicMario 05-24-2016 05:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prime 2.0 (Post 779581)
Well I like it, anyways. The biggest argument is probably the loading times on more recent games like smash bros - the n3DS cuts down the time for those a lot, I hear.

I also want to add that some games run better on the N3DS such as Hyrule Warrior Legends. On the 3DS it suffers from lag while it runs fluently on the newer hardware.
And afaik the N3DS has a quad-core 268 MHz processor while the old one has a dual-core 268 MHz processor and thus tiple the performance (one core is always used for the home menu).


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.